Technology

Cutting-edge technology for impeccable quality



PVD technology

PVD stands for “Physical Vapour Deposition”. PVD processes are environment-friendly because no waste gases or hazardous waste are produced.

In PVD technology, a base material (often a metal) is vaporised in a vacuum. This metal vapour is then deposited on the parts to be coated (substrate), forming the coating which is often just a few micrometres thick. These PVD coatings can lend special properties, for example a superior appearance thanks to a special colour, an electrically conductive surface as a shield against electromagnetic fields, excellent wear resistance thanks to high hardness, etc.

Evaporation

During evaporation, thermal energy is applied to the base material by means of an electron beam or a heating spiral. As a result, this base material, frequently a metal, is vaporised and moves towards the substrates in the form of tiny particles (molecules, clusters). Depending on the requirements placed on the coating, small quantities of process gases are added and react with the metal vapour. The vapour condenses on contact with the substrates, forming the coating.
 

Sputtering

In the sputtering process, electrical and magnetic fields are used to produce argon ions (plasma) above the plate-shaped base material (target). These positively charged ions (Ar+) are accelerated towards the target which is connected as the cathode, causing the release of minute particles (molecules, clusters) as a result of the impact. These particles react with other process gases such as nitrogen or oxygen and move as a vapour towards the substrates to be coated. The connection of an additional electrical field (bias) further influences the deposited coating and controls its properties.
 

Arc vapour deposition

In the arc vapour deposition process, the plate-shaped base material is connected as a cathode. A wire connected as the anode touches the plate briefly, initiating an arc. The root of the arc now moves around on the surface of the plate, causing localised vaporisation of the base material in response to the high energy density. A highly concentrated plasma is produced in the form of a vapour beam, through which the substrates are drawn. The addition of process gases such as nitrogen or carbon-containing gases and the connection of an additional electrical field (bias) ensure that the deposited coating features the desired characteristics.

Technologie

La technologie la plus récente pour une qualité parfaite



Procédé PVD

PVD désigne le dépôt physique en phase vapeur et vient de l’anglais « Physical Vapour Deposition ». Le procédé PVD est respectueux de l’environnement, car il ne produit ni émissions polluantes ni déchets spéciaux.

En technologie PVD, un matériau de base (souvent du métal) est évaporé sous vide. Ensuite, la vapeur métallique se dépose sur les pièces à traiter (substrats) et forme une couche qui ne fait souvent que quelques micromètres d’épaisseur. Ces couches PVD peuvent conférer des propriétés particulières, par exemple un fini raffiné grâce à une teinte spéciale, une surface de bonne conductivité électrique pour un blindage contre les champs électromagnétiques ou une excellente protection contre l’usure grâce à une dureté élevée.

Évaporation thermique

En évaporation thermique, on utilise un faisceau d’électrons ou on chauffe un filament spiralé pour transmettre l’énergie thermique au matériau de base. Ce matériau de base, qui est souvent un métal, est ensuite évaporé et se déplace sous forme de particules (molécules, agglomérats de molécules) vers les substrats. Selon les conditions à remplir, la couche est dopée par ajout de petites quantités de gaz réactifs qui se combinent à la vapeur métallique. Lorsque la vapeur atteint les substrats, elle se condense et forme la couche.
 

Pulvérisation cathodique (sputtering)

En pulvérisation cathodique, on utilise des champs électriques et magnétiques pour créer des ions d’argon (plasma) au-dessus d’une plaque de matériau de base (cible).  Ces ions positifs (Ar+) sont accélérés en direction de la cathode (cible) et entrent en collision avec cette dernière, provoquant l’arrachage de particules (molécules, agglomérats de molécules). Ces particules se combinent à d’autres gaz réactifs, par exemple de l’azote ou de l’oxygène, et se déplacent sous forme de vapeur en direction des substrats à traiter. L’utilisation d’un champ électrique supplémentaire (BIAS) permet d’influencer les propriétés de la couche déposée.
 

Évaporation par arc électrique

En évaporation par arc électrique, le matériau de base sous forme de plaque est monté en cathode. Un fil monté en anode touche brièvement la plaque, déclenchant un arc électrique. La racine de l’arc électrique se déplace à la surface de la plaque et provoque, compte tenu de la forte densité énergétique, l’évaporation ponctuelle du matériau de base. Il se crée un plasma très concentré sous forme de massue de vapeur que traversent les substrats. En ajoutant des gaz réactifs, tels que l’azote ou des gaz carbonés, et un champ électrique supplémentaire (BIAS), on est certain que la couche déposée aura les propriétés requises.